RSS

Daily Archives: October 20, 2008

God’s afraid of me?

Recently I was talking to my little boy and told him that he is fearfully and wonderfully made and he asked what any kid would ask, I think. He said, “God’s afraid of me?” I said, “No, God’s not afraid of you.” So then, I had to explain to the best of my ability what it means to fear the Lord.

And then, I stood in the parking lot of Walmart in amazement…having a heavenly moment on an acre of asphalt. The very way that we are to “fear” God is the same manner in which He created us.

Review with me what it truly means to “fear” God. We know it’s not about begin afraid. It’s about acknowledging all that He is with the highest attitude of regard, with everything that’s in us, blessing His holy name! We honor Him and respect His presence and most of all love Him, knowing with everything that is in us that He “is”.

Now, explore with me just for a moment that this is what God was doing when He created each of us. We can read Psalm 139:14 this way. “I am fearfully and wonderfully made. When God created me, He did it with the highest regard, with everything that was in Him, He blessed what He created. He honored me by making me and respects my presence from the very beginning to the very end of every day. And most of all, He loves me and when He looks at me, He knows with everything that’s in Him, that I was made for Him.”

And He didn’t stop there. Don’t forget that He made us wonderfully too! The word wonderful means “to be exciting, unusually good or to be of the highest kind or quality”. To God, we are exciting and anyone can be good, but God made us to be the kind of good that stands out in a crowd! Cherry on top, cream of the crop goodness! And don’t you know we are of the “Highest” kind and quality, created in His image!

It doesn’t get any better than this!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 20, 2008 in Uncategorized