RSS

Against a Wall

06 Aug

Isaiah 26:1-2,  “In that day shall this song be sung in the land of Judah; We have a strong city; salvation will God appoint for walls and bulwarks.”

 As children of God, do we realize where we take up residence? We live in a strong city and God himself has appointed salvation for our walls and bulwarks! I love the implication of this because that word bulwark means rampart and the rampart was the high place on the wall where the watchmen would go to get the best perspective, so that they could see what was coming. 

Now just consider for a moment what that means. Salvation is our rampart!Our perspective, no matter what we see coming, is from the place of salvation! We look out and know that whatever is coming against us, salvation has put us in a better position! Our rampart is advantageous!

The latter part of Isaiah 60:18 says, “But thou shalt call thy walls Salvation and thy gates Praise.” Note that the words Salvation and Praise in this passage are both capitalized making reference that these are a person. Salvation and Praise are both referring to the Lord Jesus Christ.

We are to call our walls Salvation.  By definition, a wall is a structure that forms and enclosure forming a defense. It’s up to you and I to determine what & whom we are surrounded with. My walls are built and made up of what I confess!  It’s my decision…my responsibility to call!  When we “call” something, we name it!  What are my walls named?  The Name above every name!  JESUS!  Now that’s quite a wall!

Have you ever heard the statement, “My back’s against a wall.”?  To use the word “wall” in that context would mean to be in a state of defeat, failure or ruin.

Now, if you’re wondering, “what does this have to do with anything?”, picture this. If the enemy is advancing, that means that he is coming at you face forward. If you are within the walls of your Salvation…he can march right up, determined to touch you, but he can only come so close. I love this passage out of 2 Samuel 22:41 (NAS), “You have also made my enemies turn their backs to me, And I destroyed those who hated me.”

The Wall of Salvation is a barrier that cannot be broken through and that means THE DEVIL’S BACK IS AGAINST THE WALL!

No matter what you see coming! Whatever you’re facing, let your declaration be, “MY WALLS ARE SALVATION! Sickness & disease, your back is against the wall! Fear, your back is against the wall! Lack & poverty, your back is against the wall!

Going back to Isaiah 60:18, “And thy gates, Praise!” What are your gates? They are places of entrance into your very life. If our gates are Praise, the Lord Himself, what should be allowed to enter there? What would He determine is welcome within your walls? And if our gates are our eyes, our ears and our mouths….selah! (Think on that.)

Sorry, I can’t look at that! No, I won’t watch such things! My eyes are a praise to God! What I watch glorifies Him!

My ears weren’t made for gossip! They weren’t made to hear such things! My ears are a praise to God!

My lips are sealed! My answer is His answer! My response is His response! What He says, I say! My mouth is His praise!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2009 in Kingdom Living

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Against a Wall

  1. Christian

    December 29, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Thank you, I have much understanding and insights now.
    I receive.Amen

     
  2. Jessica Urrutia

    June 15, 2017 at 11:00 am

    What an excellent and inspiring reading!! Thanks for sharing with all to listen. Yes!!! I call my walls SALVATION amd my gates PRAISE! Wao! Sending you many blessings!

     

Leave a Reply

 
