RSS

Adjust My Mirrors

13 Aug

Recently we had a guest at our church.  His name is Dr. Rod Buzzard.  He has written a book called  Restoring Broken People and was sharing with us from his book.  (You can access his website at www.light4life.org) .  As he was sharing, he mentioned “blind spots” that we have.  These are weaknesses or undealt with issues that others can see  in us  but we can’t. 

I have heard this spoken of before and for the most part put it off because I figured, if I can’t see it and everyone else can…they will either tell me or they won’t.  And if they do tell me, they will do it in love or they won’t.  And then, I’ll either like it or I won’t.  The outcome being,  knowing my blind spot will benefit me and others or it won’t. 

The thing is, having blind spots puts me in a very vulnerable position and the idea of it makes me feel a bit unsafe….or shall I say (the word that no one likes) EXPOSED.  Blind spots are a bit like that naked dream that I have had before where I am going into the school cafeteria and realize as I am standing in the lunch line that I forgot to put on my clothes.  By that time, there’s no way out.  The bus is long gone….Mom & Dad are no where in sight, no one wants to sit with me and I am helpless to do anything about it…until I wake up and realize it was only just a dream, that is.

I have been thinking about this and meditation is good, especially when it puts things in the right perspective.  Which leads me to my first point. 

When we have blind spots, we not only put ourselves in danger but others as well.  Just like a car merging onto the highway, if the mirrors aren’t adjusted right, there will be blind spots and we can easily merge into that lane and invade someone’s “boundaries”, cutting them off.  God showed me that sometimes, when I am not using my “mirror” the way it was intended or beholding myself and others the way I should behold them according to the word, this can happen.  

James 1:23 & 24 says, “For if any be a hearer of the word, and not a doer, he is like unto a man beholding his natural face in a glass: For he beholdeth himself, and goeth his way, and straightway forgetteth what manner of man he was.”

Lord, adjust my mirrors!  Let me see and drive accordingly!

Now, this brings me to my second point.  You know how sometimes when your windshield is exposed to extreme heat or extreme cold, the rear view mirror will sometimes just fall off?  Well, let me explain.  There are certain times, under certain conditions,  when our rear view mirror should do  just that! Times when seeing will hinder us more than looking upon something that was never intended for our sight or judgement.

I have been spending  some time in Genesis 9:20-27  

“And Noah began to be an husbandman, and he planted a vineyard: And he drank of the wine, and was drunken; and he was uncovered within his tent. And Ham, the father of Canaan, saw the nakedness of his father, and told his two brethren without.  And Shem and Japheth took a garment, and laid it upon both their shoulders, and went backward, and covered the nakedness of their father; and their faces were backward, and they saw not their father’s nakedness. And Noah awoke from his wine, and knew what his younger son had done unto him. And he said, Cursed be Canaan; a servant of servants shall he be unto his brethren.   And he said, Blessed be the LORD God of Shem; and Canaan shall be his servant.  God shall enlarge Japheth, and he shall dwell in the tents of Shem; and Canaan shall be his servant.”

If I have a blind spot, Ham is not on my list of people that I want exposing it!  And believe me, there are plenty of Hams out there and regretfully, I have been one myself  in times past and for that I repent.

Now, Shem & Japheth… These are the ones who knew the greatness that was lying there…the treasure of man (or woman) who was left uncovered and the value of his life in the eyes of God.  They picked up what I believe to be Noah’s mantle, placed it upon both of their shoulders and walking backward, with their faces backward, put the mantle in it’s rightful place.  What blind spot?  Not anymore!

Father, surround me with Shem’s  & Japheth’s and more importantly, help me by your grace and your mercy, to always be like them.  Amen!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2009 in Kingdom Living

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Adjust My Mirrors

  1. amystorms

    August 15, 2009 at 12:37 am

    Great thoughts, Stacey! And a great prayer-“Lord, adjust my mirrors!”

    Thank you for your kind words on my post. My husband teased me for calling the Prov. 31 lady a moron….:)

    Blessings,
    Amy

     
  2. Rod Buzzard

    September 6, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Thanks for your thoughts. Good thoughts and I totally agree. Blind spots are not about us exposing each other, but as you have so well said, covering each other in grace. That is what God does for us by the blood of Jesus. Thank God. But also, as you have said, they are something that we want God to help us see, so we don’t continue to hurt others. Good writing. Good insight. Be blessed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
