RSS

Inheriting Glory!

19 Aug

Proverbs 3:35, “The wise shall inherit glory…”

To inherit glory…that’s enough to make you just want to stand still doesn’t it? And to just come before Father and meditate and ask Him to reveal the magnitude of that. Well, I spent the better part of yesterday doing that and I can feeling it swelling on the inside of me. I’ll expound on that in just a moment but first I want to brag on how generous Father is. He has left us such an inheritance. There are countless examples throughout the Word and certainly not limited to these but here are just a few.

Samuel 2:8, He raiseth up the poor out of the dust and lifteth up the beggar from the dunghill, to set them among the princes and to make them inherit the throne of glory.

Psalm 37:18, The Lord knoweth the days of the upright; and their inheritance shall be for ever.

Psalm 37:22, For such as be blessed of Him shall inherit the earth

Psalm 37:28, The righteous shall inherit the land and dwell therein forever.

Proverbs 8:21, That I may cause those that love me to inherit substance; and I will fill their treasures.

Isaiah 49:8, I will preserve thee, and give thee for a covenant of the people, to establish the earth and to cause them to inherit the desolate heritages.

Isaiah 57:13-14, ….but he that putteth his trust in me shall possess the land and shall inherit my holy mountain. And shall say, Cast ye up, cast ye up, prepare the way, take up the stumbling block out of the way of my people.

Matthew 19:29, …shall inherit eternal life.

Matthew 25:34, Come thou, blessed of the Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you.

Hebrews 6:12, …faith and patience inherit the promises.

1 Peter 3:8-9, Finally, be ye all of one mind, having compassion one of another, love as brethren, be pitiful, be courteous. Not rendering evil for evil or railing for railing but contrariwise blessing; knowing that ye are thereunto called, that ye should inherit a blessing.

Revelation 21:7, He that overcometh shall inherit all things; and I will be his God and he shall be my son.

How He must love us…we’ve just finished counting the ways and that’s only one daisy in a whole world full. “He loves me! He loves me not… He loves me!” You can bet He will always draw the “last petal”!

To inherit glory! Oh His goodness!  Proverbs 3:35 says, “The wise shall inherit glory…” Now that word wise can really throw us off because it’s a hard concept for us in our human nature to consider ourselves wise. But as I was meditating on this, God revealed to me just how much He desires for us to inherit His glory. I am undone at this!

1. He has filled me with His Spirit and Holy Spirit is Wisdom. That’s one of His names and what’s more is that as I was reading from Proverbs 8,  I encountered and communicated with Holy Spirit as I never have before. Here we actually read the words of Holy Spirit. That is revelation to me because I have easily understood the Word to be Father God speaking and in red, Jesus speaking but in this passage in particular, Holy Spirit is speaking.

2. James 1:5 (AMP) says, “If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God that giveth to all men liberally, not grudgingly, without reproaching or faultfinding and it will be given him.” That is breathtaking isn’t it? That not only will God supply wisdom when we need it, but He is generous with it and He gives it with grace! When we ask, we can’t do it with an attitude of “I am not worthy” or “I don‘t deserve this” because that is not how He answers. He gives without limitation and without excuse! He says, “There is nothing keeping me from giving this to you! Ask in faith! Ask knowing!”

He wants us to inherit glory…right here, right now! One meaning of glory is simply, “heavenly bliss”. Complete happiness and joy!

Here’s a confession I have made my own. Make it yours too!

I hear instruction and am wise. I will not neglect or refuse my identity. I am blessed as I listen to Wisdom. I am watching daily at Wisdom’s gates and waiting at the posts of Wisdom’s doors. I pray you will always be found of me, Wisdom. I have found life and I draw forth and obtain favor from the Lord. I ask for and willingly receive Wisdom! Because I am wise, I inherit glory! I inherit heavenly bliss, complete happiness and joy. (Partly taken from Proverbs 8:33-35)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 19, 2009 in Kingdom Living, Life, Prayer

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Inheriting Glory!

  1. revtrev

    August 20, 2009 at 12:16 am

    Great thoughts. We have the mind of Christ… it’s humbling to realize it and wisdom to act on it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
