RSS

The “Am I?” Delimma

24 Feb

I was doing some studying and did a quick reference on the word characteristics. It means defining feature: a feature or quality that makes somebody or something recognizable.

I heard Father ask this question. Will they even recognize Me?  

I have been searching myself on this one. My thoughts, my heart, my desires, my actions, behaviors and even my “look”. What are my defining features? What defines Stacey? For years now God has been working on my identity crisis. Delivering me from a works mentality to a grace mentality.   I thought I knew who I was and really didn’t. Doing and being are two very different things and life has been a true reality check for me as of late.  I thought I was making progress on this.  I hadn’t heard from Father on this subject for a while and then He pops the question.  So, it’s back to the drawing book.  (Or maybe just the Book!)

It should come as no surprise that pastor is leading us in this direction. That Father’s voice is being heard clearly through her. That once again, He is saying to us, I AM.

Father told Moses, “I AM that I AM” and Jesus in John 8:58, said these words, “Before Abraham was, I AM.”  What statement am I making? I have a dilemma. Father’s life makes a statement like that and I’ve been walking around and seemingly, the only statement I ‘m conveying is “Am I?” 

The I AM…He is this….

I am the Alpha and the Omega. The First and the Last. The Beginning and the End. The One who Was and Is and Is to come! Yes and Amen. The same yesterday, today and forever.

I am love and I have loved you with an everlasting love. I have set my love upon you. I am your friend.

I am Savior, Redeemer, Deliverer.

I am Repairer of the Breach, the Restorer of paths to dwell in.

I am the Way the Truth and the Life. I am the way of escape!

I am My children’s bread. I am the Healer.

I am Peace. I am Mercy. I am Grace. I am the forgiveness of your sins. I am Compassion.

I am Salt. I am Light.

I am your life and the length of your days.

I am the Great Shepherd. I lead you and guide you into all truth.

I am Righteous. I am Holy!

I am your Refuge. Your strong tower! The righteous run into Me and they are safe.

I am your exceedingly great reward!

I am Hope. I am your expected end! .

Now, with characteristics like that (and this short list doesn’t even begin to describe all that He is),  I have to ask the question,  Am I?

Yes.

John 17:17-23

Sanctify them [purify, consecrate, separate them for Yourself, make them holy] by the Truth; Your Word is Truth. Just as You sent Me into the world, I also have sent them into the world.  And so for their sake and on their behalf I sanctify (dedicate, consecrate) Myself, that they also may be sanctified (dedicated, consecrated, made holy) in the Truth.  Neither for these alone do I pray [it is not for their sake only that I make this request], but also for all those who will ever come to believe in (trust in, cling to, rely on) Me through their word and teaching,  That they all may be one, [just] as You, Father, are in Me and I in You, that they also may be one in Us, so that the world may believe and be convinced that You have sent Me.  I have given to them the glory and honor which You have given Me, that they may be one [even] as We are one:  I in them and You in Me, in order that they may become one and perfectly united, that the world may know and [definitely] recognize that You sent Me and that You have loved them [even] as You have loved Me.

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “The “Am I?” Delimma

  1. definingwords

    February 24, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Father’s life makes a statement like that and I’ve been walking around and seemingly, the only statement I ‘m conveying is “Am I?”

    I loved this sentence. I’m ready to get into I AM’s presence and forget about ME.

    I needed to read this, today. Soaking in “I AM”… thanks for being faithful with the word.

     
  2. insimplicity

    February 24, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Looking forward to a big hot soaking pool just dripping from His presence myself! Off I go!

    You are welcome. Thank you.

     
  3. Lori Schafer

    March 5, 2010 at 1:16 am

    I am so greatful that “I Am” came to this earth and died for me and that HE is indeed the I Am. I am greatful that Jesus is the way the truth and the life and my refuge and strong tower… I needed to read these words today…. I just need to lean on I Am moe often instead of “Me”. Love you Sis…Great word from God!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
