RSS

The Pie in the Sky is About to Be Served

11 Mar

In prayer, God spoke very clearly to me that my “peripheral” vision was about to change. I didn’t know exactly what that meant but I had a picture of Him filling up my eyes. Oh, How I want my eyes being just full of Jesus.

I began to study out that word peripheral and I became undone. Sometimes the truth will do that to you. All this time, I had been seeing God in the peripheral. The peripheral is what can be described as the outer part of the vision. And for someone to use that terminology, it would mean this (brace yourself): accessory, supplemental, back-up, makeshift, substitute, added, additional, a contributor, assistant, supportive, secondary, subserviant, subordinate, despensible, excess or non-essential.

What have I been doing? How could I?

I have been making Jesus an accessory? Like, “Hey great outfit! Now I just need some accessories! Jesus sounds good!”

Had I been taking my Lord and Saviour as a supplement just to give my system a boost? Jesus Christ is not the back-up plan! He is THE PLAN! The only Way and the only Life!

He is not a make-shift Savior! I can’t just make Him what I want Him to be!

How about substitute, added, additional? Substitute for what? “Oh, I can’t have that! I guess I’ll just take Jesus!”.

He is not an addition! He IS the One who WAS and IS and IS to come! He needs nothing else! How could I possibly suppose that I could add Him, the Creator of the Universe to anything? “Let’s just add a little bit of Jesus and that will make it all right! There, see! That’s nice, isn’t it?”

And contributor? An assistant or supportive to me? What is He supposed to contribute to? My cause? He is not my assistant, my support person! I am His! He doesn’t have to assist me with anything or support me in anything that is not His will for me! Nor does He have to assist with anything that does not bring glory to our Father!

He is not secondary nor is He subserviant, subordinate! He is second to none! There is no other God before Him, nor this there any beside Him! He is the Beginning! He is the Alpha! The First! And thankfully, he chose to be my End! He chose to be Last! He chose to be my Omega! The end of Stacey! The end of hell for me! The end of sickness, poverty and fear for me!

Last but not least, my Jesus is not despensible. He is not take it or leave it! He is not excess! He is not dessert!

Jesus Christ is primary! He is basic, fundamental, prime, all-important, essential, imperitive, indespensible, integral, necessary, needed, required, requisite and especially vital! He is the chief, the main, the principle!

The other evening in church, brother Rob made the statement that this Sunday is PIE Sunday. Jokingly I said, “What? We all gonna bake a pie and bring it to you?” And he said, “No, it’s PI like 3.14.” He was speaking prophetically!

I began looking at pi and it startled me! Here’s what I found on Wikipedia:

The name of the Greek letter π is pi, and this spelling is commonly used in typographical contexts when the Greek letter is not available or its usage could be problematic. It is not capitalised (Π) even at the beginning of a sentence. When referring to this constant, the symbol π is always pronounced /ˈpaɪ/, “pie” in English, which is the conventional English pronunciation of the Greek letter. In Greek, the name of this letter is pronounced [pi]. The constant is named “π” because “π” is the first letter of the Greek words περιφέρεια (periphery)…

The symbol for pi can be translated periphery? That is no coincidence!

This morning in prayer, Pastor Doris was praying and said, “write the vision” and all of the sudden, it was like an explosion  went off  on the inside of me and I saw Jesus come into sight. Here is the word that followed:

Yes, we write the vision! What will we see? He must be our vision! He is the Vision! The peripheral vision is changing! No longer will God be the peripheral vision…outside, outside, outside! No more a passing glance or sideways glimpse! He must be the primary vision! No more just a supplement, looking to Him only when we need to! He is the primary vision! He must fill our eyes and there is coming and exchange! What has been outside the primary perimeters is coming inside! And what has been inside, shall be taken out and made peripheral! I see the pupil of the world being enlarged in this gross darkness, straining to see the light and for the church, I see the pupil of the eye being finer than the needle point, full of the Light! Full of the Light! Brother Rob said that this Sunday is PIE Sunday. It’s 3.14! PIE in the Greek means periphery! There is a shift taking place!

I also heard God say, “It’s not just a PIE IN THE SKY!” I got this picture of the pie in the sky being sliced and served!

I did a quick search and here’s what I found! I love Wikepedia! (www.wikepedia.com)

Pie in the sky is a phrase that means a fanciful notion or ludicrous concept. It was apparently coined by Joe Hill in his 1911 song “The Preacher and the Slave” in reference to Christian evangelists’ promise of paradise in Heaven after death. “Pie in the sky” was later popularized by televangelist Reverend Ike who preached that you should forget about “pie in the sky by and by” and to look instead within yourself for divine power.

Here’s the words from Joe Hill’s song, The Preacher and the Slave

Long-haired preachers come out every night,
Try to tell you what’s wrong and what’s right;
But when asked how ’bout something to eat
They will answer in voices so sweet
You will eat, bye and bye,
In that glorious land above the sky;
Work and pray, live on hay,
You’ll get pie in the sky when you die
And the Starvation Army they play,
And they sing and they clap and they pray,
Till they get all your coin on the drum,
Then they tell you when you’re on the bum
Holy Rollers and Jumpers come out
And they holler, they jump and they shout
Give your money to Jesus, they say,
He will cure all diseases today
If you fight hard for children and wife-
Try to get something good in this life-
You’re a sinner and bad man, they tell,
When you die you will sure go to hell.
Workingmen of all countries, unite
Side by side we for freedom will fight
When the world and its wealth we have gained
To the grafters we’ll sing this refrain
You will eat, bye and bye,
When you’ve learned how to cook and how to fry;
Chop some wood, ’twill do you good
Then you’ll eat in the sweet bye and bye

The chorus is sung in a call and response pattern.

You will eat [You will eat] bye and bye [bye and bye]
In that glorious land above the sky [Way up high]
Work and pray [Work and pray] live on hay [live on hay]
You’ll get pie in the sky when you die [That’s a lie!]

Look out world, pie is about to be served! Or should I say pi?

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Pie in the Sky is About to Be Served

  1. definingwords

    March 12, 2010 at 2:00 am

    Man! This is the first Holy Ghost rant I’ve ever read from you!!! Whew… I love it! The pie in the sky lyrics are ludicrous!!! God is speaking, here, for sure…

     
  2. Judy Adler

    March 12, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Thanks for this article. Very interesting to know that the term “pie in the sky” originated in this song. And that gives even deeper meaning to Rev. Ike’s saying, “Don’t wait for pie in the sky when you die…”. I love Rev. Ike. There are some powerful teaching videos of Rev. Ike’s on YouTube.
    Take a look!

     
    • insimplicity

      March 12, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      Thanks Judy! I was wondering about Rev. Ike and what context he was saying that in. I don’t know that I have ever heard of him but I will definately check him out! Be blessed!

       

Leave a Reply

 
