RSS

Wipe that look off your face!

19 May

Today…actually over the past few days, there has been an awakening going on in me. A time of reckoning began for me weeks ago and it continues even now but it seems with greater emphasis.  It’s more a time of “wreck”oning than anything. 

Ever had a paradigm moment when “the way things were” were wrecked? Well, yeah. That just about sums it up! “The way things were” is no more for me.  The way I think..wrecked! The way I feel…wrecked! The way I hear…wrecked! The way I speak…wrecked

And today, as I was driving into work, it’s as if my eyes were opened.  I was getting on the freeway and I noticed a woman walking on the on ramp, with a back pack. In her hand was a coffee cup and as I approached, she dropped the cup and littered the ground.  My first instinct would be, “pick up that trash” and then as I continued, I realized that she was walking toward 18 wheelers parked along the on ramp as well and that this woman was going to try to get a ride, in a truck, most likely with a man she did not know.  All of the sudden, the trash didn’t matter and my heart broke for the implications of that and the life she was living.  Who noticed?  I was only shallow enough to see the trash…

There is also some road construction going on and I found myself waiting to turn onto main street today.  As I was, the traffic would make room at the intersection because some would need to be turning there.  A man approached and needed to turn and it took him a moment to realize that the traffic was allowing room for him to go ahead.  When he finally turned, I caught a glimpse of the woman’s face in the car behind him and she shook her head and looked at him as though she despised him.  And what for?  A short delay?  For reasons I do not know, it made me cry. 

Proverbs 6:16-17 These six things doth the LORD hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him: A proud  look…

 That’s number one folks! That’s one first place ribbon I don’t want to wear!  

Not only that but Psalm 138:6 says, Though the LORD be high, yet hath he respect unto the lowly: but the proud he knoweth afar off.

 I have described to you two situations.  In the first situation, I was the one demonstrating the “proud look” and where did that put God in proximity to me?  Afar off.  It made me no better than the woman who looked at that man with hatred and believe me, I’m guilty of countless “hateful looks”. 

And I’m reminded of the times when my Mom would say to me, “You better wipe that look off your face.”  

How often have I over looked someone? 

How often have I murdered someone with my thoughts, a look or even a spoken word? 

I know God is speaking to me…wipe that look off of your face!  He wants the world to see His face!

 
 

One response to “Wipe that look off your face!

  1. definingwords

    May 19, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    selah… thank you for sharing with me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
