RSS

The Seeing Years

15 Sep

Recently, Melissa Flores posted on The Seeing Years.  You can find that post by clicking here.  http://definingwords.com/2010/09/09/welcome-to-the-seeing-years/  It would be good to read that post because what the Lord has revealed to me in this, is quite intriguing in light of that.  I can’t help but think the two are somehow connected. 

I’ve been on a mission to find out what characteristics the Groom desires in His bride.  Song of Solomon 2:16 says, “My beloved is mine and I am His.”  That’s what I want to be.  His.  Nothing less.  

So, I said all that to say this, I have been meditating on one passage and I am captivated.  

Song of Solomon 4:9

You have ravished my heart, my sister, my spouse; thou hast ravished my heart with one of thine eyes, with one chain of thy neck. 

Many interpretations of the bible, namely the Amplified and the NKJV will word it  with one look from your eyes. (NKJV) and what’s more, the AMP expounds with you have given me courage with one look from your eyes.

I don’t disagree with either of those interpretations but I couldn’t help but think that the original wording had significance in itself.  (In fact, I will touch on the Amplified interpretation later on.) 

Look with me again at the original KJV.  …thou hast ravished my heart with one of thine eyes.  As I began to study this out, I found an awesome explanation in John Gills Exposition of the Bible.

…the allusion may be to the custom of the eastern women; who, when they walked abroad or spoke to any, showed but one eye, the other, with the rest of the face, being covered with a veil;  the eyes of women are ensnaring to lovers;…

It was custom for a woman to cover at least one of her eyes because the eyes were thought to be alluring or captivating to others. To cover the face and one eye was what was acceptable, so that men would not be drawn to her.  One eye was “safe”, so to speak. 

It’s amazing to me that even in this, our lover says that He is ravished even by one eye exposed.  He just can’t help Himself.  He loves us that much!

If that’s not enough, I can’t help but refer to Matthew 6:22, “The light of the body is the eye: if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light.”

To have a single eye is so attractive to the Lord.  

The word single in the Greek is haplous and it means simple

The opposite of the Greek word haplous is poneros and means envy, jealousy and covetousness, signifying that haplous would then speak of generosity and a  giving heart.

2 Corinthians 11:3 says, “But I fear, lest by any means, as the serpent beguiled Eve through his subtilty, so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ.” 

I believe this is a season of returning to our first love.  Being undefiled and fully aware of the simplicity that is in Christ. 

It’s simple to love Him.  It’s simple to seek and to find Him.  It’s simple to give Him all of me. 

The simplicity that’s in Christ  is undoing religion.  The simplicity that’s in Christ will undo all the trappings of  envy, jealousy and strife among us as brothers and sisters in Christ.  Because He has simply favored us all and chosen us all.  And I love how Song of Solomon states it (NKJV), “Thou art all fair, my love and there is no spot in you.”   

We are ALL fair to Him and it’s when we realize that no one of us can be His bride without the other, that we have truly entered into to His bed chamber of love and rest.  He requires ALL of us. 

As I was writing this, I caught a glimpse of something.  We have been so star struck as a church.  Cameras have been flashing and we’ve been blinded!  Envying, jealous and covetous of the stage!   And when we look toward one another, we don’t see the clear picture anymore. That every life is a stage for Jesus, whether we ever take the “stage” or not.  We are left with spotted vision for one another.   But He says, there is no SPOT in you!

As promised…one last thought on the Amplified take on Song of Solomon 4:9…  “you have given me courage with one look from your eyes.”  Need I say it?  WOW! To give Him courage.  We can’t give the One who is Courage, courage but I don’t think that is what this means.  It’s courageous to live this way.  With one eye covered and it’s what we can offer Him.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 15, 2010 in Church, Prophecy, Seeing

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
