RSS

Skyways and Highways

11 Mar

In Genesis 5, we read about the descendents of Adam. Over and over again, it states that they “lived” until one in particular, Enoch, changed the scheme of things. Enoch didn’t just “live”. The word says that “Enoch walked with God: and he was not; for God took him.” 
 
We’ve all heard about Enoch…more than once…no doubt. And we should because this is an amazing testimony of an amazing man. And how could we possibly take this kind of thing personally because really, when was the last time someone just went missing because they “walk” with God? If that were the case, there should be posters of many dear men and women of God hanging around on every telephone pole and fence post, in every part of the world. “Have you seen this man?” or “MISSING: Last seen… ”  

So what does this mean for me? For us?

Enoch’s name means, initiated, teacher, dedicated, consecrated, experienced. Coincidentally or not, all the days of Enoch were 365 years. That’s one year for each day in our calendar year.

 The word says in Amos 3:3, “Can two walk together, except they be agreed?” Even better, the Amplified asks it this way, “Do two wak together except they make an appointment and have agreed?”

 What is this “agreed”? If this is a or even the key to “walking” with God, I have to know it. To be agreed, according to #3259 in the Hebrew translation, is to meet at a stated time, to engage for marriage, betroth, to assemble or gather selves together, or set a time.

 The prophets have been declaring, “NOW IS THE TIME!” Women of Valor 2011 is coming up and this year, God has said, “NOW IS THE TIME!” I believe that we are about to take a walk with God, like never before. So, if you are reading this and you’ve never attended Women of Valor or you’re on the fence about whether or not you should attend, this is your invitation. Have you made your appointment? (www.wlwc.org)

 So…on that same note, God instructed me to insert my name in that passage where Enoch’s name is. If you want to be challenged, I would suggest you to do the same. “Stacey walked with God: and was not; for God took her.” Now it’s your turn. Go ahead. “______________ walked with God: and was not; for God took ______.” How did that feel? Weird, huh? I know.

 I was driving to work last week and saw a truck that said, “Skyways and Highways.” All of the sudden, I saw the number 11, laying on it’s side.  Like this =.

 And I caught a glimpse of two men, walking next to one another. Again, 11. Literally, when I looked at them next to one another, side by side, they looked like 11.

I knew in my heart that this was an interpretation of Enoch. There was such an alignment between what was “earthly” and what was “heavenly” in his life. They were agreed. Earth and heaven had an appointment to meet together in the life of this man. Earth and heaven were married for him. They engaged one another.

 To take it a step further (no pun intended), “and (Enoch) was not“. Yes, I know he vanished. I want this. To live in such a way that “and Stacey was not.”  I’m not saying I want to just up and go missing. But if God did that, He knows best. But what I do want is for all of Stacey’s selfish intent, motives, agenda, excuses, hindrances, abrasiveness, shortcomings, etc. to just be not. I want Jesus Christ and His glory to shine through me and my life.

Galatians 2:20, “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless, I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.”  

 Notice one thing if you will. This doesn’t say that we live this way by faith IN the Son of God. No, it says by the faith OF the Son of God. 

So often when we take a look at “our” faith, it’s just like everything else apart from Jesus. Lacking. But if I’m reading this right, it’s not my faith I’m dependent on. It’s His. Oh, to have the faith of Jesus and according to the passage, we do! What He believes, I believe.    

I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 11, 2011 in Christian Living

 

One response to “Skyways and Highways

  1. Melissa Flores

    March 11, 2011 at 2:21 am

    Really speaking to me on several levels. Wow about the 11 and two men walking. Double wow about the alignment of heaven and earth in Enoch’s life. Triple wow on the issue of “…was not.” Going to take this to the pillow with me, tonight.

     

Leave a Reply

 
