RSS

Like Precious Faith

13 May

Joshua 10 contains an extraordinary story of faith. 

Then spake Joshua to the LORD in the day when the LORD delivered up the Amorites before the children of Israel, and he said in the sight of Israel, Sun, stand thou still upon Gibeon; and thou, Moon, in the valley of Ajalon.

And the sun stood still, and the moon stayed, until the people had avenged themselves upon their enemies. Isnot this written in the book of Jasher? So the sun stood still in the midst of heaven, and hasted not to go down about a whole day.

And there was no day like that before it or after it, that the LORD hearkened unto the voice of a man: for the LORD fought for Israel.

When I read this, I can’t help but note Joshua’s faith.  It must have been great.

All of us should be greatly encouraged by what the declaration of just one man can do. 

We know the sun does not rotate around the earth and neither does the moon.  It was the earth that stayed. 

God provided a divine delay so that Joshua’s triumph over the enemy would not be delayed.  

If you read further in the passage, you will see that in order for the victory to be won, the kings of the land needed to be defeated.  Each of them needed to hang on a tree because the Word says that cursed is any man who hangs on a tree.  When that occurred, they had to be removed and in the grave before sundown. 

Deuteronomy 21:23 makes reference to this. 

His body shall not remain all night upon the tree, but thou shalt in any wise bury him that day; (for he that is hanged [is] accursed of God;) that thy land be not defiled, which the LORD thy God giveth thee [for] an inheritance.

Joshua had an inheritance from the Lord and he refused to run out of time before he saw the fulfillment of it.  It would not be defiled!

Jesus fulfilled Deuteronomy 21:23 for us.  He too was taken from off the tree before sundown and placed in the grave.  Our inheritance cannot be defiled!  Glory to God!

So, here I am…noting Joshua’s remarkable faith and it occurs to me that “there was no day like that before it or after it“. 

And then it happened. God asked, “Why not?” 

When God asks a question like that, He expects an answer.  He asks not because He needs to know but because I do. 

I began to examine myself and realized that I have never once prayed a prayer like that.  And the thing is, there’s no excuse.  I tried to make one up.  I said, “Well, the Word says that there’s never been another day like it before or after that You hearkened unto the voice of a man.”

Really, Stacey?  I mean, really? 

1 John 5:14-15, And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us: And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him.

That’s when God began to help me with the exam.  He told me that I don’t think my faith matches that. 

I am  blessed to be surrounded by men and women of God who have great faith! GREAT faith!  I didn’t realize it but I thought my faith could never be what theirs is.  Truly.  I know we have all been given the measure of faith but with some, it’s much more evident than others.

That’s when He took me to the Word and showed me.  2 Peter 1:1, Simon Peter, a servant and an apostle of Jesus Christ, to them that have obtained like precious faith with us through the righteousness of God and our Saviour Jesus Christ:  

Who is “to them”?  Who was Peter talking to?  To me and to you

This like precious faith means that the faith of Stacey is equal to and equally as honored as that of Joshua.  Or for that matter, equal to and equally as honored as Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Joseph, Enoch, Elijah, Elisha, John the Baptist, the woman with the issue of blood, the centurion,  and here’s the big one…JESUS!    It’s His to begin with and I have obtained it through His righteousness. 

Front to back, cover to cover, there is no one in the Word that has greater faith than me!  Yeah, that looks  rather boastful in Times News Roman but I WILL MAKE MY BOAST IN THE LORD! 

Now, get a load of this in Times News Roman:  Front to back, cover to cover, there is no one in the Word that has greater faith than you!  Haha!

Here’s the thing.  You may not have need for the sun or moon to stand still.  It may not be in your story to have a child in your old age; climb a mountain and lay on an altar and later raise twelve tribes; wrestle for the blessing; wear a coat of many colors; walk with God and then be no more; be caught up in a chariot; raise a man to life after your in the grave; live in the wilderness; press through the crowd; or have faith that makes God himself marvel.  Or is it?

Tell me, why not?  Better yet.  Don’t tell me.  Tell God. 

I prophesy to you…your day is coming.  Are you willing to believe that there will never be another like it before or since?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2011 in Faith, Prophecy

 

2 responses to “Like Precious Faith

  1. louise ginn

    May 13, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Stacy, was just catching up on the blogs and what a treasure trove your last three days are. I plan to print them and work up some lessons plans for my class. We sometimes thnk we know all there is to know about faith but along comes your devine mussings and I realize that need to revisit the subject of dead faith. The thing we ignore because it might take too much meditating to raise it from the dead. I have somedead faith issues that need devine resurection.

     
  2. insimplicity

    May 15, 2011 at 1:51 am

    Humbled that you would say such a thing. Thank you. Seeing some dead faith resurrected here! He is Faithful and True! Love to you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
