RSS

Daily Archives: June 13, 2011

All Up In My Stuff

Luke 17:31, In that day, he which shall be upon the housetop, and his stuff in the house, let him not come down to take it away: and he that is in the field, let him likewise not return back.

First of all, I just want to make a disclaimer here.  I expect eloquent words in the King James Version of the bible.  It’s a beautiful language.  But when I came accross this passage, I was taken aback.  I find it hilarious that the word “stuff” is used in the word of God!

Don’t know why.  Just do.

But the thing is and I guess the point I’m getting at, is that God knows we have stuff.  He also knows that there will be the temptation to go to it, rather than to Him. 

He warns us.  Leave it. 

Why?  Because “stuff” is not God.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2011 in Christian Living, Eternity