RSS

UNIMPORTANT

24 May

After over an hour of unrestrained praise and worship…the atmosphere was electric with His presence.  You would think that nothing would interfere.  No distraction.

But that’s when it happened.  A thought came to me about something completely UNIMPORTANT.  When I realized I was entertaining it, I drew my attention back to God.

In a few moments, it happened again. This time, a completely unrelated thought of something else UNIMPORTANT.  Again, I garnered my heart back to God.

I thought I was in the clear.  And then, (you guessed it), there it was again.  Not the same thought but something else and can I just spell it out for you again?  UNIMPORTANT.

So I finally caught the drift and asked God, “What’s this all about Father?  Why these thoughts?”

Now, let me just say this, before I give you His answer.  It wasn’t “sin” thoughts, or so I thought.  If you really want to know, (and yes, feel free to laugh at my expense), it was clothing, a series of books I have been reading, and I’m too embarrassed to say the last one out loud but God knows about it, OK?

OK. So here’s what He said.

“When you really enter in and worship Me, your idols will draw you.”

The words to one of the songs I had been singing was “Come, walk into my temple Lord.  Overturn my tables.”

Guess that stuff was flying off the table!

I’m in love with you Jesus.  In love.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2012 in Idols, Worship

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “UNIMPORTANT

  1. Amy Nedrow

    May 24, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    Wow, what a word! Convicted even in not entering in to worship because of wanting to do other things with my time – me, myself, and I being the idol.
    Had a couple instances lately where I drew near to God and suddenly a specific fear spoke loudly and clearly – so much so I drew back from God. That’s not fear as an idol, but fear as a way to keep me from Father, right?

     
    • Stacey Blubaugh

      May 24, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      I would think, NOT fear as an idol, but as a device. Early on when I was saved, I would be at home and get in a place of prayer and then suddenly there was this literal presence of fear. So much so that I thought I would see it. I had to pray through and disregard it! Just like the Word says, I resisted it and it fleed!

      However, worry can be an idol. It’s part of a controlling, witchcraft spirit, rooted in “self” and we have to guard ourselves against it.

      Glorious God! Love ya Amy!

       
      • Amy Nedrow

        May 24, 2012 at 1:06 pm

        Thank you Stacey! It’s just straight, undiluted, cold sweat triggering, fear…
        I was delivered from the spirit of worry, but will seek God on that to make sure it’s not back.
        I’d ask for prayer that my relationship with God be intimate again – from that all the other gets made right. I also started praying (Heb 10:35-36) that specific fear, and any fear, be taken by God and transformed in me to be fierceness of faith rather than fear. That I would have fearless confidence to be steadfastly patient and endure.
        Thank you for sharing the word 🙂 Love you too Stacey! Thankful we are family in Jesus 🙂

         
  2. Abby Justice

    May 24, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Wow Stacey this is such a great word! Thank you so much for sharing. Love you

     
  3. Glenda Mills

    May 24, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    A powerful Word! Thanks for sharing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
